Home :: Customer feedback

Customer feedback

Most useful first | Newest first  
13 results found
Show results 1 - 13
Mar 17, 2015
I purchased this beautiful mill in July, 2014 and have loved it ever since. I mill 25lbs of malt under two minutes with a heavy duty 1/2" drill. Operation is smooth with a perfect crush right out of the box, preset at a 0.045 crush.

Adjustment of the crush is easy with a dial on the side of the mill and a set of feeler gage. The instructions are complete and easy to follow.

The base and hopper are recommended. The base can be easily made at home if you are handy and a base is needed to hold the mill together however the hopper looks nice and would be hard to make at home unless you work in the sheet metal business.

The Mill is far overkill for my needs but I will never worry about replacing it with another. The Mill will be a family heirloom, long after I'm gone without a doubt.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Scott Keddy about  Imperial Yeast A24 Dry Hop:
Nov 23, 2016
Inspiring IPA's with this yeast! Floculation is listed as medium but I would say it's higher than that. Important to note that although the can is more expensive than a pack of Wyeast it has twice the cell count so it ends up being 66% of the cost of Wyeast to pitch the same cell count. Love this yeast and Imperial yeasts in general.

Advantages: Cell counts and cost.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Fred Owatz about  Ratchet Press - 30cm:
Dec 10, 2013
Overall the unit works very well.

There are not enough blocks shipped with unit--you will need at least 3 more sets of 2 to make it workable.

Advantages: The staff were very helpful and the fellow in shipping was super.
Unit is easy to assemble and does a great job.

Disadvantages: It is imperative that the unit is anchored in some way prior to use. I mounted mine on a 1/4 sheet of 3/4" plywood.
2' x 4'
I was then able to stand on the plywood and my body became one with the press, otherwise it would move around too much.
Start with 4" of stemmed grapes and press them out, add another 4" and press them..............and so on until the hopper is full. Clean out hopper and start over.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
aaron about  Victoria Manual Grain Mill:
Feb 26, 2014
This small grain mill does a great job for the price. Fully adjustable and fairly well built.
Handle can be taken off in seconds and a cordless drill attached in it's place.

Advantages: In-expensive, efficient and can mill grain fairly quickly.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Mar 24, 2014
Great way to store some bottles. Has a very tight footprint and the stackable feature is very nice. For the average home brewer having 4 racks would probably be optimal. They only fit standard beer bottles properly. If you are using anything larger in diameter you won't be able to fit 24 onto the rack. Good alternative to a bottle tree

Advantages: Small foot print
Stackable
Well made
Sanitary (nothing goes in the neck of the bottle)

Disadvantages: Will hold a smaller amount of larger diameter bottles
Bit more pricey in relation to a bottle tree.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
George G. about  The New Cider Maker's Handbook:
Apr 27, 2014
If you're making cider or planning to make cider, you NEED this book. There is no fluff between the covers, only solid and reliable information documented by someone who really understands cider and what it takes to make the very best.

Advantages: Detailed information on cider apple varieties
Detailed information on equipment
Detailed information about making cider
Step by step information on how to bring it all together to make cider taste right.

Disadvantages: I wish the book had been published five years ago. It would have saved me a lot of mistakes, time, effort, money and disappointment.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Kim about  Handheld Bottle Filler:
Oct 4, 2014
I really like this product for filling my wine bottles. I find the bottles fill quicker and more uniform.It has its quirks but so far for the price it works for me

Advantages: Once you set where you want to fill to, bottling is a breeze.You can look away and not worry about overflow with its automatic shut off

Disadvantages: cleaning is a pain and it seems to only last for approx.200-300 bottles then starts to drop pieces.There's a ballbearing that has dropped out of 2 of mine in the past few years and once that happens shutoff doesn't work.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Bob French about  Filljet parts - nozzle cone:
Jun 23, 2015
These units are very fragile so ours has cracked about every six months, and must be replaced, almost impossible to repair. Great system with this one weak link, head has to be stronger.

Advantages: Quick and automatic, works well

Disadvantages: Plastic black head cracks in spite of careful users, expensive to continually replace.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
JB about  Bidules 29mm /100:
Jan 12, 2016
These bidules are professional grade, and work on 29mm European Champagne bottles. The price is better than any I've found for smaller quantities (and larger quantities, for that matter).
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Scott Keddy about  Imperial Yeast A09 Pub:
Nov 23, 2016
Great yeast Strain. I,ve used this strain recently to brew an Austrailian Sparkling Ale the won a gold Medal at a competition. I've used the House, Flagship and Dry hop strains as well with terrific results. Great cell counts and viability with all the Imperial strains!

Advantages: Cell Counts and Viability. Attenuation and Floculation. Also it's organic!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
James Fry about  Labeller Race RL1 grey:
Mar 14, 2017
I've been using this machine for 10 years. It works beautifully and never had a single issue. Highly recommended.

Advantages: Works perfectly. Beautifully made. Silent.

Disadvantages: None. Worth ever penny.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bryan Lee about  Wood Spigot #5:
Sep 20, 2017
These spigots should be considered for decorative use only. I bought 4 of these spigots last month. The handles on 2 broke off during first use. They appear to be manufactured from red oak and thus continuously wick moisture from the barrel, After one month, they are still seeping appreciably from the end grain.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Island Brewer about  Festa Brew 23L Wheat Kit:
Jan 11, 2018
This is a great kit! I have brewed this many kit many times. Only once with the kit yeast ( I found it a little bland and ended up dry hopping it into something quite nice) I just recently brewed it with a Wyeast 3711 Saison yeast. Delicious! I've also used Abby 1214 yeast and had a nice beer that friends love.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)